1865 County Louth

Voters' List


HOME PAGE                 SITE MAP


1865 Voters List


This 1865 Voters List for County Louth is transcribed from:


An Analysis of the Parliamentary Register of Voters for the County of Louth with the Names of the Landlords and their Tenants on the Register of Voters shewing the Candidate for whom they voted at the Election in April 1865, Dublin 1865



The original list is divided into Baronies:


Barony of Ardee  (pages 1 - 21) with 714 names

Barony of Ferrard (pages 22 - 39) with 628 names

Barony of Louth  (pages 40 - 49) with 338 names

Barony of Lower Dundalk  (50 - 59) with 336 names

Barony of Upper Dundalk (pages 60 - 74) with 521 names



The page columns on the original list are:


- : Initial of candidate for whom they voted ['K', 'M' (or 'O' - did not vote)]

Reg. No: Number on list within each Barony

Name: Name of Voter

Address: Address of Voter

Tenant of: If a tenant, the landlord's name


The book is in the National Library of Ireland, 2/3 Kildare Street, Dublin 2, Ireland.  Telephone: (01) 6030200.  The Reference Number is: P2491 (Pamphlet)


For the purposes of this list I have not included the number of the name on the list,  nor the person for whom the elector voted, if he voted at all. For ease of use, I have amalgamated the names within each barony into a single alphabetical list.


Please note that the names of some people who had more than one landlord appear under the name of each landlord and are therefore repeated. This list is for the constituency of Louth County and does not include Dundalk constituency nor the County of the Town of Drogheda (see below).


Click for:

1865 Voters A - C

1865 Voters D - K

1865 Voters L - Mo

1865 Voters Mu - Y



horizontal rule

The above list refers to a by-election that took place on 15 April 1865 for the constituency of Louth County, following the appointment of Richard Montesqieu Bellew (one of the incumbent MP's) as Poor Law Commissioner in Ireland. The total number of electors was 2441.


The candidates were:


Tristram Kennedy, Liberal, 1002 votes ('K')

John McClintock, Conservative, 923 votes ('M')


 There was a general election a few months later in July 1865:


The total number of electors for the constituency of Louth County was 2,441

The total number of electors for Dundalk constituency was 287

The total number of electors for the constituency of the County of the Town of Drogheda was 581


Each county constituency returned two candidates to Parliament.


The candidates for Louth County in the general election held on 24 July 1865 were:


Chichester Samuel Fortescue, Liberal, 628 votes

Tristram Kennedy, Liberal, 607 votes

Frederick John Foster, Conservative, 8 votes

John McClintock, Conservative, 6 votes



Dundalk returned Sir George Boyer, Bt., Liberal, on 14 July 1865



The Candidates for Drogheda in the election held on 17 July 1865 were:


Benjamin Whitworth, Liberal, 291 votes

Francis Brodigan, Liberal, 84 votes


Drogheda returned one candidate.




Walker, B.M. (editor), Parliamentary Election Results in Ireland, 1801 - 1922, Dublin 1978


horizontal rule


(Return to Home Page)


30 January 2013


 935 Genealogy of Gairbhith 976 Genealogy of Cinaeth Mac Croinghille  1285-1932 Drogheda Mayors 1361-1918 Co. Louth High Sheriffs 1586 Camden's Louth 1649-1734 Drogheda Council Book Name Index 1654 The Down Survey Dundalk Barony 1659-1901 Surname Analysis of Haggardstown 1665-1882 Title Deeds of County Louth Index 1689-1927 Regiments based in County Louth 1692-1841 Dundalk Corporate Officers 1734-1758 Drogheda Council Book Folio Name Index   1740 Corn Census of County Louth 1756 Commission of Array 1775 Collon Cess Payers 1775-1810 Assizes 1793 Louth Militia Officers & Men 1796 Flax Growers 1797 The Louth Militia Light Company   1798 Louth Militia Officers & Men 1804 Militia Substitutes 1816 The Murders at Wildgoose Lodge 1822 Freeholders 1824 Freeholders 1830 County Louth Magistrates 1832 Dundalk Voters 1832 Dundalk: J.R. Eastwood Creditors 1833-40 Dundalk Union Ten Pound Valuations 1837 Dundalk Householders 1837 Dundalk Property Valuations 1837 Drogheda Householders   1837 Lewis's Co. Louth 1837 Shareholders in Dundalk Western Railway 1839 Roden Tenants 1842 - The Montgomery Children, Dundalk 1842 Voters 1842 Thackeray's Louth 1848 WIlliam Torrens McCullagh 1846 Dundalk: The Long Panel 1851 Prisons in County Louth 1852 Thom's Directory - Co. Louth 1854 Patriotic Fund 1855 Ardee Convent 1855 Drogheda Poor Relief Fund 1855 The Louth Rifles - Recruits 1856/7 Emigrants 1858 The Wreck of the Mary Stoddard 1864 Map of Dundalk 1865 Voters 1868-1900 Haggardstown Internments Notified to Dundalk Democrat 1886 A Brief History  1890 Tenants' Defence Fund   1890 Dulargy Schools 1890 Louth Parish Church Fund 1890 St. Joseph's Dundalk Subscribers 1891 Bellingham Memorial 1891 Carroll Fund [Dundalk]   1894 Monasterboice 1898 Tullyallen Subscribers 1900 Haggardstown Church Subscribers 1907 County Louth Through the Stereoscope 1908 Dundalk 1914-1918 The Returned Army 1915 Co. Louth Ambulance Fund    1917 Statistics of the County of Louth 1922-24 Civil War Period in Dundalk 1930-40 Newspaper Death Notices Miscellaneous The Annals of County Louth Baronies, Parishes and Townlands Burials Statistical Surveys Dowdallshill Links Monasterboice through the Stereoscope  Co. Louth Population What's New Louth Sources Books of Co. Louth Interest Memorial Inscriptions Name Index to County Louth Inscriptions  1832 Some Co. Louth Antiquities Illustrations on this Web Site The Kingdom of Oriel Copyright Notice

          Brendan Hall 2002 - 2015